Sneak Peek – Triple Play

Hello readers! Sorry for the long absence. With the end of the semester finally past, I can get back into the important things in life, which include my writing. I’ve got a sneak peek here of Triple Play, the third novel in my Out on the Fields series that’s currently under construction. Love to hear what you think of it so far.

 

“Dear Mr. Williams;

Upon your return to campus, you are required to meet with an academic advisor to discuss your athletic scholarship. Please ensure that you book an appointment with an academic advisor as soon as possible to discuss funding for your upcoming academic year.

Whitman College looks forward to your return.”

All along the drive back to Whitman I re-read the letter I’d received from the school, hoping that there was some kind of mistake that would explain away why I’d suddenly been dropped from the scholarship. I’d arranged a meeting for later today like the letter had asked, but the only thing I could think of was that the school didn’t think I deserved a scholarship anymore because of how little I’d played in the previous year.

It wasn’t my fault. I didn’t ask to be attacked and be on the disabled list for most of the year, and the worst part was that because I had been playing in games before and after the attacks, it wouldn’t even count as a redshirt year, so I ended up wasting most of my eligibility on recovery and being in the hospital.

Dad dropped me off at Phi Delta Theta’s house and helped me unload things. I wasn’t too surprised to see that most of the brothers hadn’t yet arrived back from the Summer break; a lot of them were coming from out of state, and wouldn’t arrive until the last couple days before classes began. I knocked on the door with my stuff and was surprised when Bryce was the one who let me in. I embraced and squeezed him when he pulled the door open for me.

“Bryce! Good to see you, I missed you. I’m surprised to see that you’re already here though, I thought you wanted to spend the last couple of days with your family?”

“I did, but I figured you’d be coming back soon anyways, so I may as well claim a room that’s going to be big enough for both of us, and of course one that’s far enough away from the other rooms that they won’t hear all of what we’re going to be doing.” Bryce said with a smirk.

Leave a comment